Deaths 2016

Deaths 2015

Deaths 2014

Deaths 2013

Deaths 2012

Deaths 2011

Deaths 2010

Deaths 2009

Full list by date of death

Gilbert Cates


Born - 6 June 1934, New York City, USA
Died - 31 October 2011

An American director of often controversial subjects, especially with his work in the field of TV movies, 'Gil' Cates also produced 14 Oscar telecasts. The uncle of actress Phoebe Cates, his films included I Never Sang for My Father (1970), Summer Wishes, Winter Dreams (1973), The Promise (1979), The Last Married Couple in America (1980) and Backfire (1988). His movies for television included Johnny, We Hardly Knew Ye (1977), Hobson's Choice (1983), Burning Rage (1984), Consenting Adult (1985), Do You Know the Muffin Man? (1989), Innocent Victims (1996) and A Death in the Family (2002), his last.