Deaths 2016

Deaths 2015

Deaths 2014

Deaths 2013

Deaths 2012

Deaths 2011

Deaths 2010

Deaths 2009

Full list by date of death

Arnoldo Foa


Born - 24 January 1916, Ferrara, Italy
Died - 11 January 2014

Dark-haired, long-faced, thin-lipped, deep-voiced Italian character actor, a sinister or menacing presence in many an international costume drama, crime thriller or war film, as well as more than 100 movies in his native Italy. He had begun acting before World War Two, notably in Ettore Fieramosca (1938). Resuming his career after the cessation of hostilities, he made Un Giorno Nella Vita (1946), Adam and Eve (1949), Never Take No for an Answer (1951), Lucretia Borgia (1953), The Stranger's Hand (1954), Angela (1954), The Silent Enemy (1958), Nights of Lucretia Borgia (1960), Barabbas (1961), Damon and Pythias (1962), The Trial (1962), Son of Cleopatra (1964), Judith (1966), The Shoes of the Fisherman (1968), Borsalino (1970), The Devil is a Woman (1974), A Matter of Time (1976), Il Giocattolo (1979), The Lie (1985), The King's Whore (1990), Ardena (1997), Tuttu gli Uomini del Deficiente (1999), Nora (2000), La Febbre (2005), Anthony, Warrior of God (2006), La Rabbia (2008) and L'Ombre Rosse (2009), his last. Four times married and divorced; the actress Annalisa Foa is his daughter. Died a few days before his 98th birthday.