Deaths 2022

Deaths 2021

Deaths 2020

Deaths 2019

Deaths 2018

Deaths 2017

Deaths 2016

Deaths 2015

Deaths 2014

Deaths 2013

Deaths 2012

Deaths 2011

Deaths 2010

Deaths 2009

Full list by date of death

Garfield Morgan


Born - 19 April 1931, Birmingham, England
Died - 5 December 2009

Rather lugubrious, dark-haired, later balding British actor, whose principal work was for television, notably as Inspector Lewis in the popular police series Softly Softly, a role that brought him to the public's attention for the first time in 1966, and later, another inspector, Haskins, in The Sweeney. Films were few, but they included A Prize of Arms (1962), On the Run (1963), The Informers (1963), Company of Fools (1966), Our Mother's House (1967), Perfect Friday (1970), Henry VIII and His Six Wives (1972), The Odessa File (1974), George and Mildred (1980), Murder Elite (1985), The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill But Came Down a Mountain (1995), Starting Over (1998), Top Dog (2002) and 28 Weeks Later (2007), his last. The first of his two wives was comedy actress Dilys Laye, who died earlier this year. Morgan died from cancer.